top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Osborn

This is a Story

Updated: May 10, 2019

Most people are familiar with Will Smith's famous role on The Fresh Prince of Bel Air. I myself constantly have the theme song stuck in my head. Switch some words, take a little poetic liberty and BOOM! a catchy rap of my decision to serve and some of my expectations of my coming year.


Now, this is a story all about how My life got flipped-turned upside down So if you’d like to take a minute Just to sit and look

I'll tell you how I became a YAV of Chinook


In northwest Indiana born and raised With the youth group was where I spent some of my days Chillin' out maxin' relaxin' all cool And all talking ‘bout Jesus outside of the school We were a couple of kids who were up to do good Started doing service in the neighborhoods I got just one little taste and my soul got hooked God called 'You're movin' to Montana to a place called Chinook.’


I thought and prayed with Him day after day But He was packing my suit case to send me on my way He gave me support and then sent me my ticket. I put my music on and said, 'I might as well kick it'.


Small town, yo this is rad Meetin’ all these people, so nice and so glad. Is this really what the people of Chinook are like? Hmm this might be alright.


But wait I hear they're courteous, neighborly, all that Is this the type of place that they just send this cool cat? I sure hope so I'll see and be shook I hope I’m prepared for the town of Chinook


Well, the plane landed and when I came out There was a group who looked like a welcome wagon holding my name out My heart is a flutter. I’m ready, set I just got here They smiled with a brightness like lightning, they appeared


We headed for a car and when it came near The license plate said fresh and it had dice in the mirror If anything I could say that this car had a look But I thought 'Nah, forget it' - 'Yo, homes to Chinook.’

I pulled up to the house about seven or eight And I yelled to the cabbie 'Yo homes smell ya later'

I looked at my new home I was totally hooked To serve this community as a YAV of Chinook.

94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page