top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Osborn

We Are One (Sisi ni Kitu Kimoja)


This was one of the many beautiful views we saw along the way. (Excuse the bug guts, it's just a travel hazard.)

This month, I traveled six hours across the state to attend a Glacier Presbytery meeting. The drive gave me ample time to think about my place here. How is my presence impacting those around me? How can I make the most of this year of service? Where am I going from here? Six hours is a long time to simply sit and think and I tried not to pull out my phone or read a book, making it a point to be in the present. By the time we made it to Hamilton, MT, I was still thinking about those questions…

Rev. Floyd Thompkins speaking to some of the people of Glacier Presbytery

Presbytery was more fun than I expected. The speaker, Rev. Floyd Thompkins, was engaging. Despite the seriousness of his session on the mental health crisis, I was excited to hear what he had to say. Mental health affects all of us in some way whether we have an illness or know someone who has an illness. But the Church and those who work within it are often the first to see when the struggle reaches its peak. Rev. Thompkins talked about the ways in which congregations and pastoral staff can engage with community mental health professionals to help stymie the increasing number crises. Pastors seem to reach people where police or therapists fail. Consider my interest in mental health and community engagement piqued.


After the speaker, the business began followed by discussion, dinner, and worship. I won’t bore you with the details but I appreciate how efficient the meeting ran and will never complain about Robert’s Rules of Order again.


Throughout the weekend, I was reminded of how we are one body in Christ.

24 But God has so composed the body, giving greater honor to the part that lacked it, 25 that there may be no division in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another. 26 If one member suffers, all suffer together; if one member is honored, all rejoice together.

27 Now you are the body of Christ and individually members of it. (1 Corinthians 12:24-27)


The groups in attendance had come from all over Montana, gathering together in the name of Christ to celebrate small victories and discuss woes, share wisdom and mistrials, all while rejoicing in the glory of God. And we though many throughout the earth, we are one body in this one Lord. We may have differing beliefs, experiences, and plans but in Christ we are one. It is the same God, the same Trinity. We sing the same songs and read the same Word.


Even though the drive gave me time for reflection, I still have questions to answer or to accept that there may not be an answer. Thank you to our church friend for driving both Sophie and I to and from Hamilton. Thank you to Glacier Presbytery for giving us voice and place in your worship and meetings.



Some bonus images from the trip. Everything from the mountains to the Yarn Store (because what trip is complete without going to the classic candy store and yarn store?)

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page